01-04 Dec 2015
Paris, France
Missing image

Water Megacities and global change

This entry in not available in your language

Presentation

The International Conference Water, Megacities and Global Changes, the first conference devoted to the theme of water in megacities, will be hosted by UNESCO in its Paris HQ, December 1st to 4th – 2015, during the first week of the COP21.

Since 2011 and for the first time in its history, the world population as a whole is now mainly concentrated in urban centers. In 2025, more than one billion people will be living in about one hundred very large cities. Megacities, those cities with more than 10 million people, are multiplying rapidly.

Beyond demographic issues, climate change in these megacities will require very important measures for adaptation  and profound transformations to avert potential coming crises like: access to water and sanitation for all, service equity, economic viability, solutions flexibility, and innovative response to unprecedented evolutions.

 

Specific water issues in megacities

The concentration in megacities of populations, streams, services and goods amplifies the consequences of water related risks: large-scale flooding, insufficient resources, environmental pollution, and multiplication of dangers as a result of climate change. The many different management scales inevitably render more complex the water governance of these territories. In parallel, these large territories concentrate scientific potential, technics, operational skills, economic capacity and human resources that render possible the emergence of innovating solutions in domains like technology, organization, economy, or culture.

 

The gathering of water management actors for thinking, comparing, sharing and doing

The conference will bring together several types of public stakeholders:

  • Scientists who contribute to knowledge development;
  • Public and private operators who promote technical and socio-political innovations for the benefit of users and customers and
  • Elected officials, representatives of international institutions and of NGOs who support policies for more efficiency and better environmental justice.

In this context, the ambition of the conference is to launch a network of cooperative megacities with a view to fostering water issues. Megacities elected officials present at the conference will sign a declaration recognizing major water issues and launching a collaboration process based upon expertise-sharing and on the premises of future relevant public policies. 

 

Baseline for the call for papers

The conference will articulate  two main approaches:

  • The analysis of key water related elements relevant for maintaining and reinforcing the balance of these mega urban systems, within the context of climate change.
  • The presentation of means, methods and tools adapted to the water management in megacities and capable of resolving the related problems.

The themes of the conference follow in the line of specific issues consistent with the very place of water in megacities.

01-04 Déc. 2015
Paris, France
Image manquante

Water Megacities and global change

This entry in not available in your language

Présentation

La conférence internationale Eau, mégapoles et changement global, la première conférence organisée à Paris consacrée au thème de l’eau dans les mégapoles, sera accueillie par l’UNESCO et se tiendra du 1er au 4 décembre 2015, pendant la première semaine de la COP21.

Depuis 2011 et pour la première fois de son histoire, la population mondiale se concentre désormais majoritairement dans les centres urbains. En 2025, plus d’un milliard d’humains habiteront dans une centaine de villes de très grande taille. Les mégapoles, ces villes qui abritent chacune plus de 10 millions d’habitants, se multiplient rapidement.

Au-delà des enjeux démographiques, le changement climatique entrainera dans ces mégapoles des mesures d’adaptation très importantes, pour faire face aux transformations profondes et aux crises potentielles qui s’annoncent : accès à l’eau et à l’assainissement pour l’ensemble des populations, équité des services, viabilité économique des systèmes, flexibilité des solutions, réponses innovantes face à ces évolutions inédites…

 

Spécificités des questions de l’eau dans les mégapoles

La concentration des populations, des flux, des services et des biens dans les mégapoles amplifie les conséquences des risques liés à l’eau : inondations de grande ampleur, insuffisance des ressources, pollutions des milieux, dangers eux-mêmes démultipliés par le changement climatique. La multiplicité des échelles d’intervention, sur ces territoires, complexifie nécessairement la gouvernance de l’eau. En parallèle, ces territoires de grande taille concentrent des ressources scientifiques, techniques, opérationelles, économiques et humaines qui permettent l’émergence de solutions innovantes, sur les plans technologiques, organisationnels, économiques, culturels…

 

Rassembler les acteurs de la gestion de l’eau pour penser, comparer, échanger, agir

La conférence rassemblera un public :

  • de scientifiques qui contribuent au développement des connaissances ;
  • d’opérateurs publics et privés, porteurs d’innovations techniques et socio-politiques au profit des usagers et des consommateurs ;
  • d’acteurs de la vie publique comme les élus, les représentants d’institutions internationales, les représentants d’organisations non gouvernementales.. à même de porter des politiques plus efficientes et plus justes.

Dans cette optique, la conférence ambitionne de lancer un réseau de coopération entre les mégapoles, afin d’y favoriser la prise en compte des enjeux liés à l’eau. Les élus mégapolitains ou leurs représentants présents à la conférence signeront une déclaration, s’accordant sur les enjeux majeurs et engageant une collaboration basée sur l’échange d’expertise et la préfiguration de politiques publiques adaptées à ces enjeux.

 

Philosophie de l’appel à communication

La conférence s’organisera autour de deux approches principales :

  • l’analyse des éléments clés relatifs à l’eau, déterminants pour maintenir et renforcer l’équilibre de ces méga systèmes urbains dans le contexte du changement climatique,
  • la présentation des moyens, des méthodes et des outils qui peuvent être mis en œuvre pour accompagner la gestion de l’eau dans les mégapoles et résoudre les problèmes qui y sont liés.

Les thématiques de la conférence s’inscrivent dans certains des enjeux spécifiques à la place de l’eau dans les mégapoles.

 

Retrouvez plus d’information sur eaumega2015.sciencesconf.org